Bits and Pieces: the Three Orders of Priestesses/new Tumblr


2 Astrea/Nov. 29


O, Madria Vicka, Jana of Courage, Strength and Valor, be with us.

May the Pure Stream of Your Virtues flow within me, in this world and in all the worlds to come.



Tomorrow, there will be an article on Madria Sofia, Whose Feast Day was yesterday. In the Janite Faith, just as with the Rite of Sacrifice on the Full Moons, the Feast Day may be observed up to three days prior and three days after the actual date of the feast. The article will also be about the Virtue of Intuition. There are 21 Virtues of the Seven Janati, which numerically speaking adds up to the sacred and magickal number three. When one has achieved all 21 Virtues in balance, one is close to Union with Perfection, Herself.

sunwheel (Courtesy of Madria Kathi).

Initially, I had tried to do something a little different this year for the Lighting of the Sunwheel. But, after a brief discussion, it has been decided that we will continue last year’s tradition and so, the previous article on the Green Candle of Wisdom has been changed to reflect this decision.

The only addition I am making to last year, is that I am adding the Three Hail Dea prayers according to the candle being lit. For instance, for each of the Holy Daughter candles (yellow and blue), the Hail, Kore prayer is said. For the Celestial Mother candles, (green and red), the Hail, Mari prayer is said. And for the Great Mother candle, (violet), the Hail, Mysteria prayer is prayed.

Please note: These prayers need not be memorized as they are usually written out for certain occasions.

With the Janite Deanic rosary, we only pray the first half of the Hail, Mari, but in other rituals, we pray the full versions of these prayers. Each of the three Hail, Dea prayers have subtle differences.

The Hail, Kore is in honor of the Holy Daughter, Her royal title is The Queen of Heaven  and She is the (ever-flowing) Fountain of Grace. She is referred to as Daughter God (though She is also our Mother) and Her beloved, in the prayer, is the Mother. 

With the Hail, Mari, the Celestial Mother is the High Queen of Heaven and the (receptacle) Font of Grace. She is Mother God and Her beloved, in the prayer, is the Daughter.

In the Hail, Mysteria, the Great Mother is the Empress of Heaven and the (wellspring/source) Fountainhead of Grace. She is Great Mother God and Her beloved are the Mother and Daughter.

You will notice, as time goes on, that sometimes our traditional ending to prayers might change slightly, if we are praying to a certain member of the Trinity. For example, when we are praying directly to the Holy Mother, we say: Let us bless the High Queen of Heaven. (Blessed is She). For the Holy Daughter: it is Queen. For the Great Mother: Empress. These are their royal titles. When we are praying to the Trinity in general, we simply use Queens, plural. (Let us bless the Queens of Heaven.)



The Janite Order of Priestesses or the JOP, consists of three main Orders of Priestesses along with female devotees.

The Definitions of the Three Orders of Janite Priestesses:

The Priestesses of the Agora. Agora is Greek for the gathering places of old. It meant assembly place or open space. It comes from the root word meaning to assemble or to gather together. It was also a place where philosophers, like Socrates might teach. An Agoran priestess is a public priestess. She will serve public liturgy and public worship in a temple or elsewhere and actively serve her Faith community.

Madrian Lieren Malka once told me: as a priestess, you are the Hands and Face of Dea in the world.

The Agoran priestesses are the Hands and Face of the Holy Daughter, Kore (Kor-a), in this world, because just as the Holy Daughter leaves the Pleroma (1) to come into this world in order to save Her children, the Agoran Priestesses leave their hestias to go out into the world in order to serve Her children. (The Holy Daughter is also Our Mother.)

Priestesses of the Hestia. In Deanic Tradition, hestias, named after Hestia, the Greek goddess of the Hearth, are our sacred homes. They are homes which have been blessed and consecrated in the Name of Dea and within which the Deanic Faith is practiced by at least one member. An Hestian priestess is a private priestess, she serves liturgy and worship in her hestia, her home. She may or may not serve the Faith Community in other ways, as well.

The Hestian priestesses are the Hands and Face of the Celestial Mother, Mari, in this world, because just as the Holy Mother remains in the Pleroma, the Hestian priestess remains (spiritually speaking) in her hestia. Just as the Holy Mother turns Her Face towards and reaches out to all who call upon Her, so does the Hestian priestess help those who call upon her and those in need. She may or may not serve the Faith Community in other ways, as well.

Priestesses of Iremia. Iremia is Greek for stillness. In the Janite Faith, this word means the Still Centre of Being, which is represented by the center of the Fora. An Iremian priestess is a contemplative priestess. She may or may not serve a formal liturgy nor have a formal form of worship. She tends towards a self-expressed form of worship and ritual with the exception of the Communion Rite, which must not be changed.

The Iremian priestesses are the Hands and (Veiled) Face of the Great Mother because as the Great Mother resides in the Still Centre of Being, the Iremian priestess resides in stillness and quiet contemplation. She may or may not serve the Faith Community in other ways, as well.

All priestesses study our scriptures, teach when they have the opportunity or calling, each in their own way, or, in the words of Madria Erin of the Auroran Tradition (slightly edited to reflect all priestesses): Missionary work (not in a sense that we are actively trying to convert people, rather, talking publicly about the faith and teaching interested parties about it), writing hymns and devotional poetry, ministering to those in need, teaching healing methods, engaging in dialogue with people of other faiths and focusing on our common ground, and working to get Dea’s message of love and peace out there.

We might also teach sacred dance or add something of value to our customs and traditions. We might do works of mercy such as feeding the poor, tending the sick, helping others or working for justice and harmony in our communities.

In the near future, we will list the requirements for priestesshood in the Janite Deanic Community.


In other news, Sophia Ruth has provided these new tumblr sites:

Devotee Jacqueline:

Madria Erin, of the Auroran Tradition:

Moxxi, a devotee who is practicing a blended Path:

From Rebekah (River), a Filianic devotee:

And, from an Eclectic Pagan-Deanist blended Path:

These have all been added to our links section.


Rebekah has found a wonderful tradition for the Deanic Faith: the phrase, Dea Volente , which means, Goddess Willing.


May Our Lady bless you, Blessed is She.


  1. Supernal Fullness of the All and Fullness of Perfection, the place of Bliss and Union with Dea different than Avalon, where we rest between incarnations. It is also known in our scriptures as the Real.



3 thoughts on “Bits and Pieces: the Three Orders of Priestesses/new Tumblr”

  1. I like these “Bits and Pieces” posts! I loved the explanations for the types of priestesses.

    Thank you very much for adding my Tumblr blog to your list! However, I would ask that you remove the ‘Lady of the Tower’ from the Blogroll: it is an old WordPress account that I revived to be able to comment on this blog and others more easily, as it was already connected to my main email; I don’t intend to ever write anything on it, though, unless I move from Blogspot to WordPress at some point in the future.

Comments are closed.